Szymon Marciniak hit back after allegations that a goal from Lionel Messi should have been disallowed
Marciniak defended his handling of proceedings in Qatar. © Maja Hitij / FIFA via Getty Images
Polish referee Szymon Marciniak has commented after allegations from sports magazine L’Equipe that Argentina’s third goal in the World Cup final against France should have been ruled out.
Argentina won their third World Cup title by overcoming defending champions France 4-2 on penalties at the Lusail Stadium in Qatar on Sunday.
A thrilling game had ended 3-3 after extra time, following after a hat-trick from French star Kylian Mbappe and a double from Argentinian captain Lionel Messi.
On Monday, L’Equipe protested that Messi’s 108th-minute strike to put Argentina 3-2 up should not have stood due to two Argentine substitutes encroaching on the pitch, ready to celebrate the positive outcome of a goalmouth scramble.